BREAKING: APC Names Akpabio, Tajudeen Abass, Others As Preferred 10th NASS Presiding Officers


The National Working Committee (NWC) of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has officially endorsed Senators Godswill Akpabio (South-South) and Jubril Barau (North-West) as Senate President and Deputy in the 10th National Assembly, respectively.

Also, the APC national leadership endorsed the choices of Hon. Tajudeen Abbas (North-West) and Hon. Benjamin Kalu (South-East) as Speaker and Deputy in the incoming National Assembly, respectively.

The resolutions were made public in the statement signed by the party’s National Publicity Secretary, Felix Morka, after a meeting of the NWC at the APC headquarters in Abuja on Monday, to consider the outcome of an earlier meeting with the President-elect, Bola Tinubu.

The NWC had met to consider reports of consultations and meetings held with the President-elect, other Party leaders and stakeholders on zoning arrangement for 10th National Assembly leadership positions.

“The NWC noted with respect the outcome of the meetings held between the President-elect and the leadership of the NWC. The NWC called for further and better consultation with necessary stakeholders in order to assure the support of the aspirants to the National Assembly leadership positions and members of the Party nationwide.

“We urge our party leaders, members and all Nigerians to continue to work for peace and progress of our country during and beyond the current period of leadership transition,” Morka stated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.